crop faceless person buying lemon in market

The Louisiana Department of Children and Family Services (DCFS) received federal approval to begin virtual Disaster Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (DSNAP) operations in 25 parishes severely affected by Hurricane Ida.

Application Dates

How to Apply

On their designated day, residents will call the LAHelpU Customer Service Center at 1-888-524-3578 between the hours of 7:30 a.m. and 6:00 p.m. Translation services are available for individuals whose primary language is not English.

Applicants must select the following menu options during the call:

  • 1st Option – Select Language
  • 2nd Option – Press 6
  • 3rd Option – Press 1

When residents call to apply and be interviewed for DSNAP, a worker will:

  • Verify the applicant’s identity and residency.
  • Obtain information about income, resources and disaster-related expenses

Application Schedule

Residents should call the LAHelpU Customer Service Center to apply and be interviewed for DSNAP on their designated day (according to the first letter of their last name) or on the A-Z days, which are open to all residents in the approved parishes for each phase.

Phase 1
Parishes: East Baton Rouge, East Feliciana, Iberia, Orleans, Pointe Coupee, St. Bernard, St. Tammany, Washington, West Baton Rouge, West Feliciana
  • Monday, September 20 – Residents with last names beginning with A-F
  • Tuesday, September 21 – G-M
  • Wednesday, September 22 – N-S
  • Thursday, September 23 – T-Z
  • Friday, September 24 – A-Z (All residents in Phase 1 parishes)
  • Saturday, September 25 – A-Z (All residents in Phase 1 parishes)
Phase 2
Parishes: Ascension, Assumption, Iberville, Jefferson, Livingston, Plaquemines, St. Helena, St Martin ZIP codes 70339 & 70380, St. Mary, Tangipahoa
  • Monday, September 27 – Residents with last names beginning with A-F
  • Tuesday, September 28 – G-M
  • Wednesday, September 29 – N-S
  • Thursday, September 30 – T-Z
  • Friday, October 1 – A-Z (All residents in Phase 2 parishes)
  • Saturday, October 2 – A-Z (All residents in Phase 2 parishes)
Phase 3
Parishes: Lafourche, St. Charles, St. James, St. John the Baptist, Terrebonne
  • Monday, October 4 – Residents with last names beginning with A-F
  • Tuesday, October 5 – G-M
  • Wednesday, October 6 – N-S
  • Thursday, October 7 – T-Z
  • Friday, October 8 – A-Z (All residents in Phase 3 parishes)
  • Saturday, October 9 – A-Z (All residents in Phase 3 parishes)

SNAP Recipient Eligibility

SNAP recipients are not eligible for DSNAP benefits. However, individuals who began receiving SNAP benefits after the storm can apply.

  • Residents who received SNAP benefits in September 2021 ARE NOT eligible.
  • The latest information about SNAP benefits can be found at www.dcfs.la.gov/page/snap-updates.
 
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
girl in red dress playing a wooden blocks
Community Programs

Birth to 3 Seats

Lafayette Ready Start Network has partnered with Early Learning Centers across Lafayette Parish to offer high quality early childhood seats for children under the age of 3.

Read More...